is this life even real?

I have so much to say about this, I don’t know where to start. Okay, I’ll start with Instagram! I’ve started my Instagram in 2015 (I think), I actually was talked into getting it. And I thought I don’t really need it and as an introvert, I don’t feel at ease with sharing my life with people I may or may not know (I don’t do that even on Facebook where I know my ‘friends’). However, Instagram happened to be more interesting than I thought – I don’t have to upload tons of selfies, my morning routine, every meal I’m having or my gym updates. I know I speak with stereotypes and it’s unfair  – some people earn their money this way although their audience isn’t aware of this.

2 Broke Girls Instagram GIF

Though Instagram provided lots of interesting spaces, where you can actually educate yourself, find history you don’t hear in the media (queer history or women’s history), find people with similar interest or even get inspired. There are lots of artists who make such an amazing stuff, things that remind you how ravishing nature is. I guess this is another post where I admit how wrong I was about something but then I know that there are people with very similar point of view e.g. my best friend, who ironically works in the social media advertising, studied IT and he also thinks that ‘he’s not a type of person to have Instagram’ but you don’t have be a specific type of person. That’s what I like about social media, you can find people with similar interests – crocheting, sports, yoga or similar problems – mental health, trauma, diet etc.


Here are some a few screenshots of talented people from Instagram:

 

 

Now,  I also have to mention Plastik Magazine. They do an amazing work, very creative and they collaborate with many other equally creative artists like Saint Hoax. Their work mainly circles around pop art inspired by the cultural or political news. Sounds kinda complicated but it’s very visually pleasing and colourful. If you’re into art, there are actually many artists on Instagram. And their social media is a nice contrast to what the most popular ‘celebrities’ do on social media… eg. naked selfies, ads/selling their products.

You can share your favourite accounts from social media in the comments.


PS. The title of this post, is a reference to identities we create on social media, not always true to who we are.

One thought on “is this life even real?

Leave a comment